- The Search Agents - http://www.thesearchagents.com -

Searching Through Apps: Moving From Destination to a Utility

Posted By Matt Kain On April 22, 2010 @ 4:21 am In Featured,Mobile,Social Media | 3 Comments

I was honored to be invited to present last week at Mediapost’s Search Insider Summit [1] in Captiva Island, Florida. If you have not been to one of these events, I highly recommend it. The content is a little more forward thinking than the standard industry shows, and the format is designed to encourage easy networking. We have been a supporter of these conferences since their inception, and continue to value them greatly. Great people, good discussion, and some truly awful golf (at least on my part).

In the context of a conference theme of “Where Does Search Go From Here?”, I presented on Mobile Search and the rise of Apps as a preferred interface to content, a form of specialized vertical search. The topic was “Searching Through Apps: Moving From Destination to a Utility”.

 


Article printed from The Search Agents: http://www.thesearchagents.com

URL to article: http://www.thesearchagents.com/2010/04/searching-through-apps-moving-from-destination-to-a-utility/

URLs in this post:

[1] Search Insider Summit: http://www.mediapost.com/events/?/showID/SearchInsiderSummit.10.FL

[2] Urban Spoon: http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/urbanspoon/id284708449?mt=8

[3] Yelp: http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/yelp/id284910350?mt=8

[4] Around Me: http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/aroundme/id290051590?mt=8

[5] Four Square: http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/foursquare/id306934924?mt=8

[6] Exit Strategy: http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/exit-strategy-nyc-subway-map/id320946370?mt=8

[7] Flixster: http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/movies/id284235722?mt=8

[8] ShopSavvy: http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/shop-savvy-barcode-scanner/id338828953?mt=8

[9] RedLaser: http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/redlaser/id312720263?mt=8

[10] Amazon: http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/amazon-mobile/id297606951?mt=8

[11] Siri: http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/siri-assistant/id351778157?mt=8

[12] Searching Through Apps: Moving from Destination to a Utility: http://prezi.com/i0hadw4z8v8x/searching-through-apps-moving-from-destination-to-a-utility/

[13] Prezi: http://prezi.com/

[14] Can Siri Save the Mobile Internet?: http://www.thesearchagents.com/2012/02/can-siri-save-the-mobile-internet/

[15] Apple Acquires Voice-Activated Search Application: http://www.thesearchagents.com/2010/04/apple-acquires-voice-activated-search-application/

[16] Google’s Mobile PPC Problem – Has The Giant Peaked?: http://www.thesearchagents.com/2012/10/googles-mobile-ppc-problem-has-the-giant-peaked/

Copyright © 2009 The Search Agents. All rights reserved.